Talking to the darkness

ahemn ‘My theory’ on blogs in education

I have been continuing in my search for student blogs or discussions on blogs by students. I have found some and have now come up with a theory – it is this. Blogs are hard, you have to write, you have to have something to write about and when you write you have to catch your reader. Do you remember all the essays you wrote through school and then at college. What percentage of those tracts of information were not drawn out of us in blood, at the last minute with the feeling that, I wish I had worked harder. It is hardly the best support platform to then try and blog to the universe. Are bloggers writers? Are they able to write in a way that makes us want to read more? What are the best blogs like? The most famous seem to be secret diaries that expose the inside story of nurses, doctors, policemen etc. Some reveal a secret life or others secrets. What they are not are those dreadful round robin letters sent at Christmas, but hold on a minute they must be out there too. What we come to is the final part of my theory. Blogs seem to work best in secret or disguise. I blog as Soryahh which is not quite me. This has helped create my blog and blog within the rules I have set for myself. I would be less happy to blog as me and much less happy to blog as me in front of others who know me well.

Thus my theory is blogs are a specific type of writing/reportage that can be great and could work well in education BUT like everything they are not the answer to creative writing in the classroom. They need planning and shaping and we should not say: lets do a blog next year; we say, why and how should we blog next year.

2 responses

  1. Shaku

    I couldn’t agree with you more – at least for people over twelve! The secretness of things – fandoms for instance, or even heartbreaks and scandals – can be explored very readably in blogs but the writers’ need emotional space to be creative. Perhaps the secrecy provides this space. Deadlines and study schedules and classmates and teachers – kind of the opposite thing?!

    June 21, 2009 at 6:13 pm

  2. soryahh

    Have decided that instead of ignoring this difficulty I will go with this idea of disguise and ask students to create a persona for the blog and their digital sketchbook when I start a project next year.

    June 21, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

